Raw Strawberry Milkshake

My puppy, Pavel, went through surgery today on his eye. He had a histiocytoma on his eyelid (a rare place for it to occur, according to Dr. Chipperfield), and it was starting to bother him, so we scheduled an appointment to get it removed. When we picked him up at the vet today after the surgery, he cried and cried. After we got him home and he had some time to adjust, he slowly became his happy-go-lucky self again. Despite the annoyance of the cone on his head and the whole “having gone through surgery” thing, he’s doing surprisingly well, currently sleeping peacefully on my lap. I’m so thankful I work remotely. I don’t think I would be able to leave him at home tomorrow otherwise. Poor pup 😦

Going to the doctor always reminds me of milkshakes. Probably because whenever I was sick or injured as a kid, my mom would always get me a treat — and milkshakes were my usual choice. So after I dropped Pavel off at the vet this morning, I was suddenly in the mood for a milkshake. I recently had a raw strawberry “mylkshake” at Vegadeli, a 100% vegan restaurant here in St. Louis, and since then, I’ve been wanting to recreate it myself. I’m happy to report that I gave it a shot today and had very nice results! Enjoy this when you (or your puppy) aren’t feeling too good. It is guaranteed to make you feel at least a tiny bit better (although I can’t promise it’ll do anything for your puppy).

Raw Strawberry Milkshake

  • 2 cups filtered water
  • 3/4 cup raw cashews
  • 14 fresh or frozen strawberries
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar or 3-5 dates, pitted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • a pinch of salt

Blend for a long time, until smooth. Drink immediately. Serves 2.

2 responses to “Raw Strawberry Milkshake

  1. Sounds delish. Poor Pavel. Even puppies have to suffer, damnit. Hey, does Dyl not exist in this blog’s universe? Just sayin…

  2. He’s the “partner” I refer to in the “about” section. 😉

Leave a Reply

