Favorite Tofu Scramble

Back when I was in college (literally a year ago but it seems like forever), my roommates and I frequented a nearby diner, the Crow’s Nest, which, lucky for us, was open all night on the weekends. We’d trot over there at 3 in the morning after a night of partying (not really, unless partying is watching movies and snacking on Sour Punch Straws) and I always got the tofu scramble. It was always hot and delicious with a plate of potatoes and toast on the side. Now that I’m an old alum with a full-time job from 8-5, I don’t really have the energy for 3 a.m. scrambles. And I have the kitchen to make it on my own, so why not do just that?

The recipe I made this morning is definitely a keeper, so I thought I’d share it with you. I used a technique I learned from jae steele’s Ripe from Around Here to marinate the tofu in tamari soy sauce and minced garlic first before cooking it up. I also used the spice blend found in the basic scrambled tofu from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s Vegan Brunch.

Tofu Scramble

  • 1 1b. firm tofu, drained and crumbled
  • 3 tablespoons tamari soy sauce
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup chopped broccoli (other veggies would work too)
  • 1 tablespoon coconut (or olive) oil
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • salt, to taste
  • fresh black pepper, to taste
  1. Marinate tofu in soy sauce and garlic for a few minutes (up to 30).
  2. Over medium high heat, sauté broccoli in coconut (or olive) oil for about five minutes.
  3. Add tofu and marinade. Add spices and nutritional yeast and incorporate. Sauté with a metal spatula for about 10 minutes more, until most of the liquid has evaporated. Taste for salt and pepper. Serve warm with potatoes on the side.
One response to “Favorite Tofu Scramble

  1. I’ll make this. I love the Crow’s Nest’s version but this sounds better.

Leave a Reply

