Tempeh Burger

Tempeh Pita, actually. There’s a food co-op in the town I went to college in, and I was happy to find that they had a deli with more vegan options than any vegan college student could ask for. My favorite was the tempeh burger, which they served on Thursdays. My friend Ryan (whom you may know by now) and I celebrated “Tempeh Burger Thursdays” together, walking rain, shine or (most often) snow to enjoy one of those juicy tempeh burgers complete with plenty of vegenaise, dijon mustard and avocado. Now that I’m living much further than a short walk to the People’s Food Co-op, I decided to try to recreate it in my home kitchen. And, I can happily say, I succeeded! I stuffed it in a pita instead, and I think it tastes great as a tempeh “pita” too! I also used tempeh “bacon” slices instead of a tempeh “patty,” but the flavor is just as I remember! Now, to the recipe:

Tempeh “Bacon” (slightly adapted from Vegan Brunch)

Marinade:

  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar (or apple cider vinegar)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3/4 cup vegetable broth
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  1. Slice tempeh widthwise into 1/4 inch strips.
  2. Mix ingredients for marinade together in a wide shallow bowl (I used an 8×8 baking dish). Add the tempeh slices and marinate for at least an hour.
  3. Preheat 1 tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat. Fry the tempeh for about 10 minutes, flipping occasionally and pouring more marinade over the temeph.
  4. Add vegenaise, dijon mustard, tempeh, lettuce, tomato (if desired), onion and avocado to half of a warmed pita pocket (or a burger bun). Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

