Sunny Mylk

I’ve been trying to incorporate more raw foods into my diet lately. This includes making my own nut and seed milks! As anyone who reads my blog should already know, I’m a big fan of almond and cashew milks. I recently tried making sunflower seed milk too for some variety. And I liked it! Dyl didn’t care for it, but he also tried it with his daily cereal which is mostly just sugar, so maybe it just didn’t mix well with the *&^# he was eating. 😉 I was cautious at first but had it again today in chocolate magic milk form and thought it tasted great! The sunflower seed flavor is stronger than the flavors of cashew and almond milks, but who doesn’t like sunflower seeds? They turn into such beautiful things.

I don’t drink milks by themselves — always blended into a smoothie or blended with cocoa powder. I’ll provide the recipe for the milk below and you can decide what to do with it. 🙂

Sunny Mylk

  • 3 cups filtered water
  • 3/4 cup raw sunflower seeds, soaked for 4-12 hours, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons more raw sunflower seeds (soaked, drained and rinsed) or raw cashews
  • 3 medjool dates, pitted
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 cup + 1 tablespoon raw cocao powder (optional)

Blend until smooth. Strain through a fine mesh sieve, if desired, for an extra smooth texture (tip: I use a spoon to make it strain faster). Serve cold. Store in a glass jar in the refrigerator for up to 3 days.

By the way, jae steele’s sugar-free spring cleanse starts this Thursday! Join us, if you’d like!

Leave a Reply

