Bye-Bye, Sugar, Bye-Bye

Today was the first day of jae steele’s sugar-free spring cleanse. What exactly is a sugar cleanse? I had this same question, not knowing what exactly constitutes a sugar. As jae explains,

I propose a 2 category system. EVERYONE will get rid of:
* Sugar (including white sugar, brown sugar, glucose-fructose, corn syrup, etc.)
* All alcohol (wine, beer, liquor, whatev)
* Any yeasted products (breads, etc)
* All white flour products

If this is where you’re comfortable, you’re a *1*.
If you want to go deeper, you’ll get rid of as many of the following as you can:

* “Whole” sugars : molasses, barley malt, rice syrup, agave, maple syrup, honey
* White potatoes, white rice
* Peanuts, strawberries
* Cow dairy
* Soymilk, tofu, processed soy products (faux meats, etc)
* Dried fruit (dates, raisins, apricots, etc)
* Wheat
* All gluten (incl. spelt, kamut, rye, etc)
* Corn, cornmeal
* Coffee, black tea
* Fruit juice, jams

This makes you a *2*.
However, if you cut ALL of the above items, you’re a *3*.
Cool?

(You can find more information on the cleanse on the Facebook discussion board.)

I am a little embarrassed to confess that I almost caved in, actually, on the first day. Living less than ten minutes from the best pizza place in town, which also happens to serve the godsend that is Daiya cheese (not to mention house-made sundried tomatoes and roasted garlic), how can one resist? Fortunately (and unfortunately), my bank card was deactivated due to some fraudulent activity I hadn’t even noticed, so thanks to the person who stole my credit card number, I am a level 2! The only thing keeping me from becoming a level 3 is that I had dates in my cashew milk this morning. I’m just hoping that I can resist the two boxes of strawberries currently in the fridge. I’ll just have to make Dyl polish them off for me. What a task!

This is what I ate today, in case you’re curious. (Feel free to stop reading at this point. I assume you have better things to do than to mull over my diet ;))

 Breakfast: homemade cashew milk with dates and raw cocoa powder

 Lunch: organic baby mixed greens with homemade tahini dressing (tahini, lemon juice, water, salt, pepper)

 Dinner: Fresh-pressed carrot apple orange juice and Veganomicon’s Lentils and Brown Rice with Caramelized Onions – very good, cheap and easy to make! (I recommend decreasing the amount of olive oil in the recipe and adding a few shakes of salt at the end.)

 I do normally eat more than a salad for lunch, but today happened to be a very busy day at work. The death of the letter “t” on my keyboard didn’t help. I am planning a ceremony in his (her?) honor. But for now: Goodnight, sweet letter. May flights of angels sing thee to thy rest.

Leave a Reply

