Rainbow Juice

I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather lately — it started right after I ended my sugar-free cleanse, in fact, which has led me to consider continuing with the sugar-free diet. Ever since I started juicing my own fruits and vegetables, I’ve sworn by the powers of carrot juice to kick a cold. I’ve now added a few other ingredients to the mix to create this rainbow juice, which is actually quite tasty, especially compared to the cold medicine I remember forcing down as a child. Enjoy this daily when you feel your immune system needs a boost.

Rainbow Juice

  • 4 carrots
  • 1 beet
  • 1 apple
  • 1 2-in. piece ginger root
  1. Wash all produce. Juice according to the manufacturer’s directions.* Enjoy immediately.

Despite feeling less than 100%, I did spend the day tabling at the Earth Day Festival in St. Louis, which was a blast. I was impressed with how many people attended and how friendly everyone was. The table next to us was Raintree Learning Community, a neat alternative preschool and kindergarten in Ballwin, Missouri, which incorporates gardening, nutrition and cooking education into the curriculum. I also feasted on some delicious handmade sweet potato chips at the St. Louis Animal Rights Team table and a vegan pumpkin spice muffin from Foundation Grounds. Speaking of muffins, I’ve been experimenting with a gluten-free blueberry muffin recipe from Get it Ripe made with buckwheat (and no refined sugar)! I’ll share the recipe soon. Until then, enjoy this sneak preview.

*I use the Hamilton Beach Big Mouth Pro juicer, which is pretty cheap and gets the job done.

Leave a Reply

