Oat-Corn Muffins, Steamed Kale-Broccoli Salad, and Thrifty Vegetable Broth

These corn muffins are so good. I adapted them from the Double Corn Muffins in jae steele’s Ripe from around Here, using oat flour instead of spelt flour and corn grits instead of cornmeal, since I happened to have those in the cupboard. I’ve been using spelt flour for a while now, but I just recently started baking with oat flour, so I was a little nervous to see how the muffins were going to turn out. Fortunately, I was pleasantly surprised! They hold together well and are just the right amount of sweet so that they can be eaten for breakfast or at dinner with soup, and the corn grits add great texture.

Oat-Corn Muffins

  • 1 1/3 oat flour
  • 1 cup corn grits
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 1/4 cups nondairy milk + 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 flax egg (see below)
  • 1/2 cup corn kernels (fresh or frozen)
  1. Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease muffin tray.
  2. Make “buttermilk” by mixing nondairy milk and apple cider vinegar in small bowl.
  3. Mix dry ingredients in large bowl. Add “buttermilk,” oil, maple syrup, flax egg and corn kernels. Mix until just combined.
  4. Pour batter evenly into prepared muffin cups. Bake for 25 minutes.

Yield: 12 muffins

Flax Eggs: Blend 1/2 cup water + 1/6 flax seeds in blender. 3 tbsp of mixure = 1 flax “egg” 🙂

Now that there’s an abundance of local veggies available, I’ve been eating more fresh veggies lately! I prefer to lightly steam kale for a salad instead of using lettuce or spinach — they go bad too quickly and I hate to throw out food (even if I am composting it). Here’s my basic recipe for a steamed veggie salad, but feel free to tinker with it!

Steamed Kale-Broccoli Salad

To steam the veggies: I use a 2-quart pot with a small mesh colander which fits into the pot. Just place the veggies in the colander, boil 2 inches of water on high in the pot, place the colander in the pot, put a lid on top, and steam for the specified amount of time.

Ingredients:

  • 2 colander’s worth of kale, stems removed and torn into bite-sized pieces (steam for 5-8 minutes)
  • 2 colander’s worth of broccoli florets (steam for 5 minutes)
  • a handful of chopped onions or green onions
  • a handful of dried cranberries (or other dried fruit)
  • a handful of sesame seeds (or pumpkin/sunflower seeds or toasted nuts)
  • balsamic vinaigrette (I use the recipe from Appetite for Reduction — it’s awesome!)

Steam veggies for specified times. Toss with remaining ingredients and desired amount of balsamic vinaigrette. Enjoy!

Thrifty Vegetable Broth

I’ve recently started making my own broth and have discovered how easy it is. Before I used a powder or bouillon cube or simply water, but it’s so much cheaper and less wasteful to make your own! Just save the stems/skins/discards of veggies in a bag in the freezer and when you need broth, simmer veggies (covered) in water for an hour or more. Use about 1 part veggies to 2 parts water. I usually get the broth started an hour or so before I plan to make dinner, and it’s ready by the time I need to add it to the soup/stew/etc.

Leave a Reply

