Rebecca’s Granola

This granola recipe was adapted from “Roco’s Granola” in jae steele’s Get it Ripe (a fabulous cookbook which I probably use more often than any other cookbook). This was my first time making granola, and I was extremely excited to realize that it’s so easy to make — and way cheaper than the store-bought kind! I store my granola in a glass Ball jar. Serve with homemade almond milk or your favorite nondairy milk.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup brown rice syrup
  • 2 tbsp. blackstrap molasses
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/4 cup olive or coconut oil + extra to grease pan
  • 2 tbsp. sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbsp. sesame seeds
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  1. Preheat oven to 325. Lightly oil 2 1/2-3 qt. casserole dish.
  2. Combine oats, bran, germ, brown rice syrup, molasses, almonds, oil, seeds, and cinnamon in a large bowl.
  3. Transfer mixture to casserole dish and bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven to stir a few times while baking.
  4. After removing from oven, mix in dried cranberries. Enjoy!

By the way, check out my guest post on my friend Michelle’s blog, No Animals Harmed, with a recipe for a “Chunky Monkey” smoothie!

2 responses to “Rebecca’s Granola

  1. i just made my first homemade granola too… and i sooo loved it. and i love jae’s site, but don’t have her books, unfortunately.

  2. I couldn’t believe how easy it was. I’ve been on an oatmeal kick all week, but I’ll probably make some more granola after I kick this cold I’ve been fighting off for a few days. I highly recommend both of jae’s books, Get it Ripe (her first book) and Ripe from Around Here. I use them probably more than any other cookbook I have.

Leave a Reply

