Basil Lemonade

A coffee shop here in St. Louis, Foundation Grounds, serves lavender lemonade, which I love, but they just recently switched it up a bit and served basil lemonade. It was so delicious! Since I have a ton of extra basil in my garden, I decided to make some of my own. It’s really easy and the result is a refreshing drink with a subtle basil flavor. If you use purple basil, the lemonade looks pink too! I used a mix of green and purple basil this time around — look how pink it turned out!

Ingredients

  • a large handful of basil (more/less depending on how strong you want the flavor to be)
  • 4 cups filtered water
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar or maple syrup

Pour 4 cups just-boiled water over basil leaves and let steep for at least 30 min/1 hour (the longer the better). Strain the basil out. Add lemon juice and sweetener. Chill in freezer or refrigerator. Serve over ice and enjoy!

4 responses to “Basil Lemonade

  1. Mmm. I’m gonna have to try that. I haven’t tried Foundation Grounds blend yet, but will make this with my overgrown basil plants. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. You’re welcome! I have three overgrown basil plants, so I’ll be drinking lots of this lemonade this weekend. Have you tried the lavender lemonade at Foundation Grounds? It’s really tasty too!

  3. It’s my go-to drink whenever I’m there. I’m actually in the process of trying out my own lavender lemonade (steeping the lavender flowers right now). I’ll post the recipe, if it turns out well!

Leave a Reply

