Maple Walnut Blondies

These are the perfect treat for the first week of fall! Made with Blue Heron Orchard (a local farm right here in Missouri!) certified organic(!) applesauce that I picked up last night from Apple Bites, an apple-themed event going on at Local Harvest. You can see by my over-use of exclamation points that I’m really excited about these blondies — and fall and local farms! So when I set out to make the Maple Pecan Sticky Blondies from Dreena Burton’s Eat, Drink & Be Vegan, I decided to change the recipe up a bit in order to make use of my newly-acquired applesauce, and I really liked the result! These are more cake-like than your usual blondie (maybe because of the applesauce), but I’m becoming a fan of these (after my fourth piece, I’m embarrassed to say). I prefer these the day after they were made — either cold or at room temp. (but stored in the freezer for freshness).

Tip: Dreena recommends to cool them in the refrigerator first before cutting. After cutting into squares I first let them freeze on a baking sheet , then store them in a container in the freezer, which makes it easy to just grab a piece and eat (and it also allows them to stay fresh longer).

Maple Walnut Blondies (adapted from the Maple Pecan Sticky Blondies in Eat, Drink & Be Vegan)

Blondies:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp. sucanat (I might leave out the extra 2 tbsp. next time and see how I like ’em that way.)
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tbsp. arrowroot powder
  • 3 tbsp. nondairy milk (I used homemade cashew milk)
  • 1/3 cup applesauce
  • 2 tbsp. pure maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 tsp. blackstrap molasses
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 3 1/2 tbsp. safflower oil (or another neutral-tasting oil)
  • 1/4 cup nondairy chocolate chips

Topping:

  • 3/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. pure maple syrup
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. safflower oil (or another neutral-tasting oil)
  1. Preheat oven to 400. Combine ingredients for topping in a small bowl. Place on a parchment-lined baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes. Set aside.
  2. Reduce heat to 350 and line an 8×8 baking pan with parchment paper.
  3. Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a mixing bowl. Combine 1 tbsp. of nondairy milk with the arrowroot powder in a separate bowl. Add the remaining nondairy milk and the rest of the ingredients (except for the chocolate chips) and stir until well-combined. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just combined.
  4. Transfer batter to parchment-lined baking pan and sprinkle with walnut mixture and chocolate chips. Lightly pat down into batter. Bake for 32 minutes. Place baking pan on a cooling rack and allow to cool before cutting into squares (or cool in the refrigerator before cutting for neater squares).

Yield: 9 squares

I recommend storing these in the freezer (pre-cut) and serving cold.

In order to balance my blood-sugar after all of these blondies, I made my version of the Good Shepherd’s Pie from Get It Ripe, and I wanted to show off how pretty the beets make the dish look!

Leave a Reply

