Not Your Dad’s Lentil Loaf

My dad turned 56 this week. I forgot my dad’s birthday two years in a row once, so I am always careful to make sure I call him on his birthday. The problem is I don’t know when his birthday is! For some reason I have the birthdays of my mom, my sister and my brother memorized, but his always slips my memory. Maybe I shouldn’t analyze this too much.

Despite not remembering the actual date of his birthday, I do remember that my mom always made meatloaf on my dad’s birthday, his favorite food! With lots of ketchup. My dad’s quite the classy dude, huh? So, maybe it wasn’t a coincidence that I decided to make Oh She Glows’ Vegan Lentil Walnut Loaf last night. It was really tasty. So tasty that I ate more than half of the loaf, I am not proud to say. But everyone deserves to pig out a little bit on Saturday night, right?

I’m not going to re-post the recipe, because Angela does such a great job of explaining the directions (with pictures even). You can find the recipe here. I made the sweet potato version, not the original carrot-apple. The only modification I’d make next time is doubling the sweet glaze — I can never get enough sauce!

I had the leftovers for breakfast this morning, thus succeeding in finishing the whole loaf in 24 hours or less. That’s the second time this week I’ve finished a whole dish in one day. Maybe I should start working out?

P.S. Can you do me a favor? When you make this recipe and discover you love it as much as I do, can you contact my mother and aunt and let them know? They made fun of me all day when I raved about my lentil loaf. Words hurt, mom!

Leave a Reply

