Maple-Pecan-Molasses-Extra-Chocolate-y Chocolate Chip Cookies

Boy, do I have a delicious recipe to share with you! Remember these cookies? You’re probably sick of hearing about them now. Well, I decided to make these again, since I was craving something sweet and didn’t have anything to eat for lunch in the house. Instead of using cashews, almonds, or walnuts, though, I decided to use pecans — a good decision! I also used a combination of maple syrup and sorghum molasses for the sweetener this time, and that really made a difference. The flavors of the pecans, maple syrup, and sorghum molasses (tastes like blackstrap molasses, but it was harvested and produced here in Missouri) really make the cookies. Try this combination, and you can probably use blackstrap molasses instead of sorghum, if you can’t find it.

I’m not going to re-post the recipe (since you can find it here), just make the following changes:

  • Replace the nuts with pecans
  • Replace the brown rice syrup with a combination of maple syrup and sorghum molasses (or blackstrap molasses) — I did half and half.
  • 3/4 cup chocolate chips (not 1/2 cup, unless you don’t want them extra-chocolate-y and then use less)
  • I also didn’t use the rolled oats this time either, but I was planning on it. I just realized at the last-minute that I was out of rolled oats! I think these are better without the oats, though. They’re more like that classic chocolate chip cookie, with the rich flavors of maple syrup and molasses.

I didn’t use parchment paper, and these really stuck to the baking sheet, so I recommend lightly oiling the pan or using parchment paper. I also recommend storing these in the fridge and eating them cold, if you can resist them right out of the oven!

Yield: 12 cookies

I have no pictures, but I do have this video. Don’t hate me for posting it. John and Yoko were so cute they make me cry (and John would have turned 71 yesterday).

Finch would like to say Happy Week 2 of Vegan MoFo, you silly humans!

2 responses to “Maple-Pecan-Molasses-Extra-Chocolate-y Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Is that brody?

Leave a Reply

