Swedish Cardamom-Cinnamon Rolls

I am back from a mini-hiatus from the blog with CINNAMON ROLLS!! Only probably the best baked goods known to man. The last time I made cinnamon rolls (using the recipe from Vegan Brunch), my step-father told me they tasted just like the ones his Swedish grandmother used to make him, except hers had a touch of cardamom. I decided to give it a go to make mine exactly like my step-great-grandmother whom I’ve never met, but with whom I would have loved to have baked! For those of you who are used to me using whole-grain flours and sugar alternatives, let me point out to you now that I used all-purpose flour and sugar for these, since a cinnamon roll is the definition of a decadent dessert (or an extra-special breakfast). I once again used the recipe from Vegan Brunch (because it’s flawless!), but I changed the spices only slightly to add in that “touch of cardamom.” — I replaced the 1 tsp. of ground cinnamon in the dough with 1 tsp. cardamom. I think next time I might play around with 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. cardamom. I also think I’ll double the icing next time. What can I say? I love icing.

You know what holiday is coming up this week. What you don’t know is that that means I’ll be baking lots of pies. Tomorrow morning it’s the old fashioned chocolate pudding pie from the new Vegan Pie In The Sky cookbook. I made a pumpkin pie for a vegan Thanksgiving potluck over the weekend (using the pumpkin pie recipe in The Joy of Vegan Baking and the flaky pie crust recipe from How To Cook Everything Vegetarian — using the prebake method), and it was so good I am going to make another on Thursday for my family’s Thanksgiving meal. And maybe another just for myself. I’ve decided that I think pie is my new favorite dessert — even better than cookies. Maybe not chocolate chip cookies. That’d be a tie.

3 responses to “Swedish Cardamom-Cinnamon Rolls

  1. Wow, I think cardamom is probably an amazing addition to those rolls. Cinnamon rolls are my favorite dessert, and while I rarely have them, this has me wanting to make a batch. I haven’t looked at the pie in the sky book yet, but now I want to do that too. 🙂 My guy is trying to be gluten free now so it’s a new challenge for us, but I’m sure the recipes could be de-glutened. I hope you have a fun holiday with your family, glad to see a post from you!

    -Sara-

  2. Cinnamon rolls are one of my favorites too! Have you tried the vegan Big Momma cinnamon rolls at SweetArt? They are amazing. I checked out the Pie book at Barnes and Noble today. Good stuff! I hope you have a good Thanksgiving too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

