Lentil Ratatouille

I adapted this recipe from Dreena Burton (yet again! I’ve been using her cookbooks a lot lately). Dreena’s recipe is actually Chickpea Ratatouille, but I was out of chickpeas, so I used green lentils. I also changed the vegetables based on what I had. The result was really tasty. I’m definitely going to make this again. I served it with brown rice, but I could also see serving it over pasta. Bonus: this recipe is really easy to prepare. Just put everything in a casserole dish and let it cook for a long time!

Lentil Ratatouille (adapted from Dreena Burton’s Vive le Vegan!)

  • 2 1/2 to 3 cups cooked lentils
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup beets, skins removed and chopped
  • 1/4 cup carrots, chopped
  • 2 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. freshly grated ginger (or minced)
  • 2 tsp. honey alternative (I used maple syrup)
  • 2 tsp. mustard seeds
  • 2 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. dried rosemary
  • 1 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • freshly ground black pepper, to taste
  • 2 dried bay leaves

Preheat oven to 400 F. In a large, deep casserole dish, combine all of the ingredients except the bay leaves and stir well. Add the bay leaves to the mixture, cover and bake for 30 minutes. Then stir, cover again, and bake for another 35-45 minutes, stirring through once or twice more. Remove bay leaves and serve with a cooked grain.

Yield: 4-5 servings

Leave a Reply

