WAFFLES

I bet by now, if you are my Facebook friend, you are sick of hearing me talk about waffles. I should be sick of waffles too, since I’ve had them for the past four meals in a row now, but I’M SO NOT! I think I could have waffles every meal for the rest of my life. As long as I take some juice breaks to get my fruits and veggies. So far, I’ve made two different recipes for vegan waffles. My favorite at this point is the first recipe for waffles in the Joy of Vegan Baking. It uses ground flax seeds as the egg replacer, which adds a subtle flax seed flavor and little golden flecks in the waffles — which I think adds a good deal of character. It does use six tablespoons of Earth Balance, though, but the upside of that is the waffles don’t stick to the waffle pan (and I didn’t even spray the pan with oil). And, if I’m eating waffles, I’m kind of expecting to eat a lot of butter anyway. The only thing I changed in the recipe, which I included below as an optional ingredient, is the addition of cornmeal, which adds some texture. You can add it or leave it out, no big deal.

Waffles (modified only slightly from Waffles I in the Joy of Vegan Baking)

  • 3 tbsp. ground flaxseed
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 6 tbsp. non-hydrogenated, nondairy butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups nondairy milk
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cornmeal (or more flour)
  • 1 tbsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbsp. sugar (or maple syrup, if you prefer)
  • pinch of salt
  1. Preheat your waffle iron (hopefully you have one, if you chose to proceed with this recipe).
  2. Whip the ground flaxseed and water in a blender or food processor for about two minutes. Add the melted butter and nondairy milk and blend for another minute.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the flour, cornmeal (if using), baking powder, sugar and salt. Add the wet ingredients and stir until well-combined.
  4. Pour ½ cup of batter onto preheated waffle iron and cook according to the manufacturer’s directions. Serve immediately with your favorite fixings (I prefer Earth Balance, maple syrup and sometimes an easy berry sauce (recipe below).

Yield: 4-6 waffles

Easy Berry Sauce (or compote, if you want to be fancy)

This doesn’t make a lot, just about enough for 4-6 waffles. Maybe extra, depending on how berry-ied you like your waffles.

  • 1 cup berries of your choice (either fresh or frozen)
  • 1-2 tbsp. maple syrup (or sugar, if it’s all you’ve got)
  • 1 tsp. arrowroot or cornstarch
  • 1 tsp. water

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan. Heat on medium for about 5-10 minutes, until the berries are broken down and the mixture is jam-like. Serve warm or at room temperature (or cold, if that’s your thing). Who am I to tell you how to serve your berry sauce?

2 responses to “WAFFLES

  1. Delicious! I will make them, better yet, you make for me.

Leave a Reply

