Chocolate Turtles and Seven Random Facts

I’m naturally a pretty private person with most people I meet and can be difficult to warm up to (not because I don’t like you! It’s just how I am. I blame my parents). So when I saw this “seven random facts” thing going around the blogosphere on Manifest Vegan and Choosing Raw, I thought I’d give it a shot.* If you’d rather just skip to the turtles (I don’t blame you), scroll down to the picture.

  1. You can count on it that I am never wearing matching socks. Not because I think it’s cool or hipster-y, I just never have a matching pair of socks to put on. I’m lucky if I can find two socks, period. And I feel like this fact sums up my life.
  2. I am happiest when I am creating something in the kitchen. (Duh.)
  3. I am my second happiest when I am listening to music. I have a hard time just living in the moment, but cooking and listening to music are two activities during which I find I’m able to turn my brain off and just be. Music is very important to me, and the quickest way to my heart is through a shared musical taste.
  4. I’ve never regularly worn make-up in my life. Not because I think I’m “naturally beautiful” and don’t need it. There’s just something really strange to me about looking in the mirror and not seeing “me” looking back. Make-up’s always creeped me out (on myself, not judging anyone who wears it at all). I also find it perplexing that women are expected/taught to paint their faces but men are beautiful as is (I realize I am generalizing here and that not just women wear make-up).
  5. Several people in my family (including me) suffer from a mental illness, and removing the stigma tied to mental illnesses and seeking out therapy and/or medication is another passion of mine.
  6. Most of the time I’m the type of person who says things like, “Why would I ever want to bring children into this effed up world?”, but I find most kids I meet extremely cute (especially when they are well-behaved and open-minded). And now that my big sis is pregnant, I’ve been thinking more about babies and pregnancy and think the whole process is pretty neat.
  7. Speaking of babies, if I could have anyone’s, it would be, without question, George Harrison’s.

*You’ll notice I didn’t mention my cats or dogs in this. I wanted to stick to things you probably don’t know about me yet, since this is all about sharing and stuff. I’m pretty sure you already know I’m a crazy cat (and now dog, too) lady.

Now to the turtles! These are a delicious raw treat — free of refined sugar and flour. The chocolate ganache is very rich, so just one or two of these babies will satisfy your chocolate craving. Enjoy “your moment.”

Chocolate Turtles

Nougat Filling:

  • 1/2 cup almond nut pulp, packed (you can also just use 1/2 cup raw almonds here, if you don’t have any nut pulp on hand)
  • 1/2 cup dates, pitted
  • Pinch of salt
  • Drop of vanilla extract

Chocolate Ganache:

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp. raw agave nectar (or maple syrup, if you don’t need it to be raw)
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tbsp. cocoa powder (use raw cocao powder if you need it to be completely raw)
  • Pinch of salt
  1. Prepare the nougat filling by mixing everything in a food processor for several minutes, until it all comes together. Form into walnut-sized balls and place on a baking sheet in the freezer while you prepare the chocolate ganache.
  2. Prepare the chocolate ganache by stirring all of the ingredients in a bowl really well until the coconut oil is completely dissolved and there are no bits. This will probably take a few minutes. If you prefer, you can also blend it in a food processor.
  3. Take the baking sheet with the nougat out of the freezer. Roll each ball in the chocolate ganache using two spoons and then transfer back to the baking sheet. Just coat it as best you can; it doesn’t need to be perfectly smooth. I don’t use my hands for this — it’s too sticky. You should have just enough ganache to coat all of them (if you have a little extra, store it in the refrigerator or freezer and eat on a day when you just really need a chocolate-y rich treat).
  4. After you’ve coated all of them with the ganache, place an almond (or your favorite nut) on top. Store in the freezer and serve cold.

Yield: 15

3 responses to “Chocolate Turtles and Seven Random Facts

  1. oh, maybe george has some frozen sperm?
    did you read his book……..??
    he’s my favorite beatle FOR SURE!

  2. Haha, I’m afraid that ship has sailed. If there is any frozen sperm, I’m pretty sure it’s a gazillion dollars. I haven’t read his book yet!! I saw it at a bookstore on Main St. in St. Charles a while ago and wanted it, though. Have you read it yet? He’s my favorite Beatle too! Then John, then Paul, then Ringo. Not that I don’t love Ringo! ;)

Leave a Reply

