Oatmeal “On-The-Go”

You know those annoying people who are just always late, no matter what? Even for, like, really important things like weddings and funerals? I’m one of those people. Like, if I say I’m going to be there in 5 minutes, it really means 20. And people make a really big deal about it when I’m on time. I swear, it’s in my genes (thanks, dad!).

So, obviously, I’m always in a rush and never have time to make breakfast in the morning. I created this method of having oatmeal “on-the-go” so I could enjoy breakfast once I get to where I’m rushing to be (usually work). Just throw the ingredients in a glass jar with a lid (I use a mason jar) before leaving the house (or even get it all ready the night before), and then when you want to make your oatmeal, just add steaming hot water until it covers it slightly, put the lid back on and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. Voilà! A hot jar of delicious oatmeal. I usually transfer it to a bowl, but there’s nothing wrong with eating it out of the jar. This recipe is very sweet, so reduce the amount of maple syrup and dates if you prefer your oatmeal a little less sweet. It makes a good amount, too — enough for a satisfying lunch during my work day.

Oatmeal “On-The-Go”

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp. sunflower seeds
  • 1 tbsp. almonds
  • 2 tbsp. maple syrup
  • 5 shakes cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 dates, pitted and chopped

Throw all of the ingredients together in a glass jar with a lid. When ready to eat, cover with steaming hot water just a bit higher than the oats and put the lid back on. Let sit for 5-10 minutes. Stir well and pat yourself on the back for remembering to pack this for yourself so you wouldn’t go hungry at work. You’re awesome!

Yield: 1 large serving

2 responses to “Oatmeal “On-The-Go”

  1. Great idea. I rarely have much time in the a.m., and also I’m not very hungry in the morning. This would be a good thing to take to school to have when I feel hungry mid-morning. Thank you.

  2. Thank you! I’ve been taking this to work lately and having an early lunch when I start to feel hungry. You can also adapt the recipe to what you have in the kitchen — different nuts, seeds, dried fruit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

