Oatmeal Maple Syrup-Sweetened Chocolate Chip Cookies

I adapted this recipe from the Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies in Terry Walters’ Clean Food, a beautiful, bright green cookbook I picked up a week ago. It’s my new favorite cookbook with 200+ healthy, whole foods vegan recipes divided by season. I’ve already tried the Carrot Ginger Soup, which was delicious, and I’m making the Millet Black Bean Patties with Corn today for lunch. I cut the cookie recipe in half and used vegan butter instead of canola oil, resulting in twelve mouth-watering, chocolate-y, maple-y, cinnamon-y cookies without the blood sugar spike that normally accompanies chocolate chip cookies. They were halfway gone within a few minutes of being taken out of the oven, I’m embarrassed to admit.

Before I get to the recipe, I have news! I’ve relocated to Kalamazoo, Michigan, where I lived for four years in college. It’s colder up here compared to St. Louis, but I’m used to it from my time here before, and it doesn’t seem as cold as I remember with a gas fireplace in my apartment. I’ve been enjoying running into old friends and revisiting old hang outs (yes, my favorite “hang out” is a grocery store — predictable, huh?). Tonight I am trying the brand new (and first) vegetarian restaurant in town, Fuel, and seeing an old friend, Fiona Dickinson, perform at Louie’s Trophy House Grill.

Oatmeal Maple Syrup-Sweetened Chocolate Chip Cookies – adapted slightly from Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies in Clean Food

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tbsp. cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/8 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 6 tbsp. (1/4 + 1/8 cup) maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup nonhydrogenated vegan butter (I used Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, whip maple syrup, butter and vanilla until mostly smooth. Pour wet into dry and combine (you might need to use your hands to form a dough). Fold in chocolate chips. Form into 12 equal balls and place on two cookie sheets. Bake for 11-13 minutes, until lightly browned. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

Yield: 12 cookies

Leave a Reply

