Mr. Pancake and Green Smoothie Monster

Last night, along with my two dogs, Pavel and Henrik, we house-sat Dyl’s mom’s dog, Bear, and “house-sat” a dog who followed my neighbor home earlier this week. That is to say, I didn’t get much sleep. I was doing okay with the lack of sleep up until a few minutes ago when I decided to cuddle with Svetlana (what we’ve been calling the found dog) and came as close to sleeping as I could get without actually sleeping. I’ve never been fond of naps, as I always wake up feeling groggy and disoriented afterwards, but I might need to make an exception in this case, as I feel pretty groggy and disoriented anyway. Sitting by the fire and eating pancakes and a giant green smoothie helps, though. You can find the recipe for the Puffy Pillow Pancakes at the PPK blog here. I adapted the green smoothie recipe from the Drink Your Greens Smoothie in Eat, Drink & Be Vegan. Just make sure to add enough water at the end so you can actually drink it (or sip it through your very own resusable straw), because the avocado and banana make it pretty thick and creamy.

Green Smoothie Monster — adapted from Drink Your Greens Smoothie in Eat, Drink & Be Vegan

  • 1/2 cup (preferably fresh-squeezed) orange juice
  • 1/2 cup water (plus more as needed to thin to desired consistency)
  • 1 cup greens (I used collards), washed, stems removed and chopped
  • 1 banana (preferably frozen)
  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 cup mango chunks (preferably frozen)
  • 1/2 tbsp. agave nectar (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until completey smooth (this might take several minutes). Add more water until desired consistency is reached.

Yield: 1-2 servings

I’m off to succumb to that nap…

2 responses to “Mr. Pancake and Green Smoothie Monster

  1. I don’t think I could drink a green smoothie!

    • That’s what I thought, but the fruit balances out the bitter taste of the greens, I swear! Give it a try. Use more fruit and less greens in the beginning so you can get used to the taste.

Leave a Reply

