Gluten-Free Fluffy Diner Pancakes

I’m back! I took a little unintentional hiatus from the blog, but I’ve returned with a gluten-free pancake recipe that will knock your gluten-free socks off.

I recently started experimenting with gf baking, starting with the famous BabyCakes cookbook, but I didn’t like the taste of the Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour in the chocolate chip cookies and cornbread I’ve made from the book so far, so I’m going to set that flour aside to use in these dog biscuits.

After some searching online, I discovered the Cinnamon Quill blog, showcasing recipes using a combination of gf flours instead of a pre-made mix. That fact and the beautiful pictures on the blog motivated me to keep going with the gf baking and ditch pre-made gf mixes for the time being.

And I’m glad I did! These pancakes from Cinnamon Quill are like fluffy, diner pancakes and taste delicious drenched in maple syrup. I adapted the recipe to suit the flours I currently have in my kitchen. If you’re new to gf baking (or even if you’re not), try these out!

Gluten-Free Fluffy Diner Pancakes

Adapted from this recipe by Cinnamon Quill

  • 1 1/4 cup nondairy milk (I used almond.)
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil, plus more for the pan
  • 2-4 tablespoons agave nectar (or maple syrup or sugar)
  • 1-2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 3/4 cup tapioca flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon xanthum gum
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 scant teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • Pinch of cinnamon

Preheat skillet over medium-low heat and spray with a light coating of oil.

In a medium bowl, combine dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Add dry to wet, and stir until combined. Add a tablespoon or two of nondairy milk to thin batter, if desired.

Spray a 1/4 measuring cup with oil and use to ladle batter onto preheated skillet, flattening the pancakes a bit on the skillet. Let cook until edges look firm, flip and cook for another 1-2 minutes. Re-spray the skillet in between batches. Top with nondairy butter, maple syrup and fresh strawberries.

Yield: 8-10 small pancakes

I’m really excited to try more gluten-free recipes! If you have any you particularly like, send them my way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

