Raspberry Lemon Waffles (Gluten-Free)

At my work where I’m employed as an AM Baker (meaning I work the graveyard shift), I bake raspberry lemon muffins. They smell heavenly, but since none of the baked goods I make there are vegan (yet!), I’ve never been able to try them. Using inspiration from these muffins, I decided to turn Allyson Kramer’s (of Manifest Vegan and the brand new Great Gluten-Free Vegan Eats cookbook, which I can’t wait to get my hands on!) Lemon Poppyseed Waffles into Raspberry Lemon Waffles. I was pleased with the results, especially because they smelled just like the raspberry lemon muffins from work!

Tip: These freeze well! To re-heat, bake on 350 for 5-10 minutes, depending on how toasted you like them. Serve with butter (I don’t even need maple syrup when I eat them this way). Yum!

Raspberry Lemon Waffles (Gluten-Free)

Adapted from Manifest Vegan

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (135g) sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup (85g) brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup (30g) potato starch
  • 1/4 cup (30g) tapioca starch
  • 1 tsp xanthum gum
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 4 tbsp agave nectar (or maple syrup or sugar)
  • 5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen or fresh raspberries

Directions:

  1. Preheat waffle iron and spray with oil (repeat in between batches).
  2. Sift together dry ingredients.
  3. Make a well in the center and add wet ingredients. Mix with a fork until no (or very few) lumps remain. Fold in raspberries and quickly proceed to the next step so they don’t bleed into the batter too much.
  4. Cook waffles according to the manufacturer’s directions. I used a scant cup of waffle batter per waffle (tip: spray cup with oil so the batter doesn’t stick).

Yield: 4 big waffles

Leave a Reply

